The Boomjacks - Moments in Space and Time @UCTL @theboomjacks

The Boomjacks is beatmaker duo from Kuopio, Finland. The duo consists of brothers known as Jyri & Villejam, both having a strong musical background. The brothers started making beats separately but eventually ended up working together in late December 2008. The production of The Boomjacks could be characterized as eclectic hip hop and boom bap. It’s basis is on heavy sampling and hard hitting drums. 

After a couple of years of making beats for MC’s only, The Boomjacks decided to alter their approach to beats and began releasing their instrumentals for listeners. In January 2011 The Boomjacks started with Beats series, a very straight-forward, well received continuum of beat tapes that spans to four volumes at the moment. In November 2012 The Boomjacks released a conceptual instrumental album, Beats of Ice and Fire, which was inspired by George R. R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire novels and HBO's Game of Thrones TV series adaptation. It was shortly followed by a jazz-funk inspired instrumental release Butter & Jam. In July 2013 The Boomjacks released a collaborative EP together with the Pennsylvania based MC Apollo’s Sun, The Ownlife Sessions, Vol. 1. The last months they have spent working on new instrumental material for Moments in Space and Time. 

Words from Jyri: 

The current project is something we started over two years ago, or basically a project of that feel was started back then. Originally the work title for it was "Moods & Grooves", though it was on the stage where we kept it just between us, so never mentioned it publicly. It was supposed to be a project that works even more as an album of instrumentals than our "Beats" series. We set up a few beats but ended up ditching it for a while and some of the other originally intended beats ended up on "Beats vol. 4". It now contains maybe two beats that were somewhat rearranged from the earlier versions and a few other beats that we have been sitting on, waiting for the a project they would fit on properly plus a few completely new beats. "Moods & Grooves" felt inadequate for the project title. The beats on the tape try to reach a mood, and basically what they do is take capture an instant in the four dimensions we all live in, so that's the origins of the title "Moments in Space and Time".

"Moments in Space and Time" is available now via Bandcamp. You can get the album for free or make a donation to support U Call That Love and our artists.

Also you can stream "Moments in Space and Time" on other services too:


1. Good Vibes
2. The Search
3. Jazz Peace
4. Graveyard Shift
5. Drips
6. Hitch
7. The Golden Hour
8. The Weight
9. Spirits
10. The Numbers Game
11. Funky Boom
12. The Heist
13. ADAD
14. Inner Worlds
15. Endjam

The Boomjacks' links: 

Popular Posts